Coping with Pet Loss: Understanding the 7 Stages of Grief

7 Stages of Grief, Unrecognizable young woman hugging obedient dog at home // Healthier Pets Today

Am I depressed? Is it normal after losing a pet? Let’s find out and have a look at the 7 stages of grief! When a companion passes, many pet owners experience sadness. It is completely normal. Here is a silver lining: you’re in the process of healing. If you are grieving the loss of a beloved pet or want to help someone through this process, this is for you. Let’s have a look at the 7 stages of grief!

7 Stages of Grief

Mournful black woman crying in light room // Healthier Pets Today

1. Shock and Denial: Initial Feelings of Disbelief

Women Hugging in Cafe // Healthier Pets Today

The first reaction of many when their pet dies is shock and disbelief. At this stage, it feels like it is not real. Many people expect to see and hear their pets or to find them in their usual spots around the house.

Both shock and denial are healthy coping mechanisms in the early days of your grief, as they give you time to recognize the new reality of loss gradually. In this phase, allowing oneself to feel those emotions for as long as we need to is vital. Realizing this is a normal reaction can help you acknowledge and embrace your feelings, which is the first phase of mourning.

2. Pain and Guilt: The Sadness and Regret Phase

Grief will materialize in the form of pain and guilt as the realization of the loss sets in. Pet owners may cry a lot and deeply mourn during this stage. You may also feel regret and wonder whether you could have done something different to save the pet. This guilt makes you wonder if only” and “what if,” which can be a really difficult time for you.

The key is that as painful as they are to experience, these feelings are also appropriate expressions of grief. If you realize your sadness and guilt are typical responses, it will be easier to be gentle with yourself. Talk to supportive friends and family members, or join a support group to receive some comfort and reassurance during a difficult stage.

3. Anger and Bargaining: Searching for Answers

Anger and bargaining are often the emotions accompanying grief as it continues. Although you may experience frustration, disbelief, and anger, you could direct it in any direction, whether it be towards yourself, someone else, or the pet that has left you. One might even feel bitter at life or fate for the injustice of the loss suffered.

You might also attempt to rationalize the situation and begin bargaining, saying things like, “If I could just have my animal back, I would do anything” to change the truth. Everyone will feel the same; the mind tries to reassert itself and create logic for the pain. It may be helpful to acknowledge and communicate your anger and bargaining thoughts.

4. Depression: Deep Sadness and Withdrawal

In this stage, you may feel the full depth of your loss and feel overwhelmed, despondent, or defeated. It may be difficult to manage your usual activities or to enjoy things that used to give you pleasure.

This stage can even manifest in physical symptoms like fatigue, changes in appetite, or sleep disturbances. It is a tremendous depth of sadness, but it is a normal part of grieving.

5. The Upward Turn: Gradual Improvement in Mood

Woman Carrying Adult Fawn Dog // Healthier Pets Today

Amidst the sorrow and isolation that accompany depression, you may find that your mood starts to lift slowly. The upward turn is the slow and steady move towards recovery of this stage. You could feel slightly more energized, and it could be easier to participate in everyday activities. Tiny glimmers of happiness may return, and the wound may begin to heal.

Just remember that your improving mood does not equal a false alarm about forgetting your pet, but rather that you are beginning to learn to live without them. Integrating these positive changes into your life can help you move forward with your grieving journey. Be gentle with yourself while doing this; it is okay to mourn as long as you need to.

6. Reconstruction: Rebuilding Life Without the Pet

Rebuilding your life without your pet is slowly beginning to reconstruct. This phase is about them discovering their new lives and the emptiness their absence has created. You will start creating new habits and discover what you love to do and what excites you. It means you are not forgetting your pet but learning to live differently.

That will be most of what you do during that time. You will let yourself remember all the good times you had with your pet and take refuge in all the experiences that made you happy. Recovery is when you take that loss and morph it to fit into your life while still allowing it to make its mark on your growth.

7. Acceptance and Hope: Finding Peace and Moving Forward

Acceptance and hope are the last stages of the grieving process. Of course, acceptance does not imply that you should forget your pet, but you must learn that, inevitably, it has ceased to be in the physical world.

Eventually, the memories may not be so crippling. As you begin to imagine a future in which joy is still possible, hope peeks out from the corner. At this point, you may feel more open to trying new things and having new relationships while remembering your pet. Acceptance means realizing that life still goes on and it is okay to live and to be happy, even when you lost so much.


What can we expect in terms of a mourning period?

Although we all grieve in different ways, some grieve longer than others. That might be two weeks for some, a few months for others, or years. Give yourself the time to grieve and heal.

Is it normal to feel guilt after putting a pet down?

Feeling guilty is normal in the grieving process. Most pet owners second-guess their decisions and wonder what they could have and should have done differently. Realizing that these are all part of the normal grieving process can help with some of that guilt.

How do I deal with the overwhelming sadness when I lose my pet?

If you are sad, let yourself be sad and talk to somebody! Discussing your sadness with friends, family, or a support group can bring great comfort. Doing things that you enjoy and taking care of yourself may also be helpful in managing your sadness.


Person Holding a Stress Ball // Healthier Pets Today

Asking am I depressed is normal, and feeling the way you do is normal, too. This guide gives you clarity as you go through the 7 stages of grief. Remember that no one way of grieving is better than another. Hold on to all the good memories of your precious fur baby, and have some grace with yourself. By blending their memory into the tapestry of your life, you pay tribute to the love and happiness they brought. May you experience a lightness of spirit and peace as you move forward!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here